Better Governing Now » Governor McCrory Announces Appointments


Governor McCrory Announces Appointments

Press Release:

 Raleigh, N.C. — The Office of Governor Pat McCrory announced the following appointments today:

North Carolina State Youth Advisory Council

  • Richard Parks (Nash County) — Parks is a supervisor with the Rocky Mount Police Department. He has 25 years of law enforcement experience. Parks serves as chair of the council. This is a reappointment.
  • Olga Perkins (Guilford County) — Perkins is a Spanish teacher at New Garden Friends School in Greensboro. Previously, she taught at Caldwell Academy for 13 years. This is a reappointment.
  • Susan Mills (Cumberland County) — Mills is a part-time pharmaceutical sales representative. She volunteers with the Red Cross and serves on the Cumberland County Library Board of Trustees. This is a reappointment.
  • Michael Woods (Buncombe County) — Woods is the Executive Director and CEO of Western Carolina Rescue Mission in Asheville. Prior to taking that role in 2010, he was the Director of Operations. This is a reappointment.
  • Dave Leonetti (Catawba County) — Leonetti is the Community Development Manager for the City of Hickory. Additionally, he is the advisor for the Hickory Youth Council. This is a reappointment.
  • Emmanuel Holder (Wake County) — Holder is the Outreach Coordinator for Neighbor to Neighbor Ministries, Inc. He spends his free time volunteering with Young Life and Oak City Academy. This is a reappointment.
  • Atrayus Goode (Durham County) — Goode is President and CEO of Movement of Youth. He founded the organization in 2006 when he was a junior at UNC Chapel Hill.
  • Don Byrd (Johnston County) — Byrd was President of Future Farmers of America at West Johnston High School and served as one of 15 national delegates from N.C. to participate in the 85th National FFA Convention in 2012. He is studying business administration at UNC Chapel Hill. This is a reappointment.
  • Marsh Lyall (Wilkes County) — Lyall is a former teacher and superintendent of the Wilkes County School System. He has been active in the Rotary Club of North Wilkesboro for 30 years. This is a reappointment.
  • Carmen Ledford (Guilford County) — Ledford is an advocate for the home school community and home schools her two children. She spends her free time volunteering. This is a reappointment.

 The council advises the youth councils of North Carolina; encourages state and local councils to take an active part in governmental and civic affairs; promotes and participates in leadership and citizenship programs; and cooperates with other youth-oriented groups. It also receives and recommends expenditure of gifts and grants from public and private donors on behalf of the Department of Administration.

Marine Fisheries Commission

  • Janet W. Rose (Currituck County) — Rose is the widow of previous Marine Fisheries Commission chair Paul Rose. She is a real estate broker/agent at Remax Alpha Realty and runs Paul Rose Seafood.
  • Richard D. Smith (Pitt County) — Smith is the President of Independent Leaf Tobacco Co., Inc. He has served on numerous boards and commissions including the N.C. Tobacco Trust Fund Commission, The Tobacco Foundation of NCSU and the NCSU Advisory Board to the Commissioner.
  • Keith D. Rhodes (New Hanover County) — Rhodes owns a restaurant in Wilmington called Catch. The Wilmington native has been voted the city's best chef for three consecutive years and appeared on the TV show Top Chef.

 The commission manages, restores, develops, cultivates, conserves, protects and regulates the marine and estuarine resources within its jurisdiction. The commission also implements laws relating to coastal fisheries, coastal fishing, shellfish, crustaceans and other marine and estuarine resources enacted by the General Assembly. The commission has nine members, each serving a three-year term. The governor appoints all members.

North Carolina State Library Commission

  • Ed Williams (Mecklenburg County) — Williams was the editor of the editorial pages of The Charlotte Observer for 25 years. He previously worked as an associate editor for 10 years. He was also a visiting professor of public policy at Davidson College in 2010 and currently serves as a trustee of the Charlotte Mecklenburg Public Library.
  • Richard T. Wells (Randolph County) — Wells is the former Randolph county manager. In the mid-1970s he worked as an evening librarian at Randolph Community College, and was director of Randolph County's public libraries from 1991-2006.

 The commission advises the secretary of Cultural Resources on library matters. It is also responsible for evaluating and approving plans for public library development, library cooperation and plans for federally funded library programs. The commission has 15 members, each serving a four-year term. The governor appoints eight members.

North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners

  • Edwin Clark Jenkins (Buncombe County) — Jenkins is the president of Feldspar Corporation, a $25 million producer of industrial materials including feldspar, sand and clay. He is also experienced in domestic and international marketing/sales including business development and planning.

 The board is responsible for examining and licensing dentists and dental hygienists, and regulating these practices.

North Carolina State Board of Podiatry Examiners

  • Dr. Christine Wright (Guilford County) — Dr. Wright practices at Cornerstone Foot and Ankle Specialists in High Point, N.C. She graduated from Ohio College of Podiatric Medicine and completed surgical residency at L. Richard Memorial Hospital in Greensboro, N.C. She is currently chair and managing partner of Cornerstone Health Care Realty as well as physician chair of human resources for Cornerstone Health Care. She is a member of the American Podiatric Medical Association and N.C. Foot and Ankle Society.

 The board is responsible for licensing podiatrists in North Carolina.

  • Contact: Crystal Feldman

Governor McCrory Protects Personal Safety Information Of First Responders State Government North Carolina Rural Infrastructure Authority Approves Nearly $3.1 Million in Funding Requests